Autism: Not a Fate Worse than Death

In 2009, Jenny McCarthy said,

“If you ask a parent of an autistic child if they want the measles or the autism, we will stand in line for the f___ing measles.”

As I write, over 100 people have been diagnosed with measles, thanks to over a decade of discredited reports and generalized fears linking autism and vaccines. The reason that kids are very sick from a preventable illness are because some parents are afraid that living a life like mine, my son’s, and my family’s is worse than the threat of deadly diseases. If you are a parent who thinks you’re being put in a difficult position of choosing between two scary risks for your child, I need to tell you this: autism is not the end of the world. It is not a fate worse than death. Vaccines don’t cause autism, and autism is not something to be feared.

I get your fears about chemicals and toxins. My autistic child takes his lunch to school in stainless steel containers so that I don’t have to fear chemicals from plastic leaching into his food. His lunch is PB&J on homemade bread, because I don’t want to buy the store-bought bread with high-fructose corn syrup. I embraced extended breastfeeding, babywearing, cloth diapers, and homemade baby food. I get that the natural, organic lifestyle is best for our kids. But I had no hesitation about vaccinating my kids, and I would do it again today. I have an autistic child, who was born autistic and lovable and amazing, and I would never stand in line for the f______ measles.

Don’t just take my word for it. Please read these important posts including the perspective from autistic adults, who rightly don’t appreciate when others make their existence out to be a worst case scenario.

Vaccines Don’t Cause Autism, But That’s Not the Point. Stop Being Ableist

I’m Autistic, And Believe Me, It’s A Lot Better Than Measles

Leave a Reply

